RI.gov R.I. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |

Contractor Registration Instructions

Rhode Island law requires anyone who is in the business of commercial construction, home construction, alterations, remodeling, or repair to residents to be registered with the State of Rhode Island Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board.

The following is a list the items required when registering as a Contractor/Sub-Contractor in Rhode Island.


Previous OR Existing REGISTRATIONS:

  1. If expired BEFORE April 1, 2014 OR AFTER April 1, 2018 and will be performing work on any Residential Structures,
    5 hours of CONTINUING EDUCATION is required. Please visit our approved provider listing on our home page under "Continuing Education Providers and Courses" and submit the certificate of completion with the Renewal form.
  2. Completed renewal form
  3. $500,000 certificate of liability insurance indicating R.I.C.R.L.B. as certificate holder;
  4. $200.00 Registration filing fee, 2 years, additional $35.00 late fee if expired
  5. Payments made by check or money order; payable to R.I.C.R.L.B.
    Payments by credit or debit cards must made at the R.I.C.R.L.B. office, NO CASH.
  6. If company is a corporation or LLC, then you must have your certificate from the R.I. Secretary of State.

NEW Contractor Registration Applicants

  1. Pre-Education Courses (5 hours) are required for NEW applicants performing work on any Residential Structures.
    Click here for information regarding pre-education courses.
  2. Completed and notarized application
  3. Signed and notarized affidavit
  4. $500,000 certificate of liability insurance indicating R.I.C.R.L.B. as certificate holder;
  5. $200.00 Registration filing fee, 2 years
  6. Payments made by check or money order; payable to R.I.C.R.L.B.
    Payments by credit or debit cards must made at the R.I.C.R.L.B. office, NO CASH.
  7. If company is a corporation or LLC, then you must have your certificate from the R.I. Secretary of State.

Out-of-State Resident Applicants


In addition to the Instructions above, please fill out Section 3 of the Contractors' Registration Application or the Agent of Service Form. Click here for suggestions for Registered Agents in Rhode Island.

 

Listserve Sign-up

If you wish to receive RI Contractors' Registration and Licensing Board meeting announcements and/or other timely information by E-mail, please click the button below:

Clicking the button below will open an email message. Just send the email message and you will be automatically signed up for that industry Listserve service. Listserve messages will be sent to the email address from which your message was sent. Signing up for any Listserve service below is voluntary.